Thursday, July 23, 2009

Aynsley Dunbar with John Lennon

John Lennon - Sometime In New York City (1972)

Coming after Imagine, Some Time In New York City proved a sharp about-face for Lennon fans expecting more of the same when the double album appeared that summer. Critics considered the album overly radical in its political slant, while many of John Lennon's fans stayed away from the double set in droves, causing it to merely limp to #48 in the US. Although the UK release managed a healthy #11 peak, Lennon was devastated at its commercial failure and would not record any music for almost an entire year.

Sebenarnya dalam album John Lennon 'Some Time In New York City' versi CD ini Aynsley Dunbar hanya berpartisipasi dalam satu lagu saja (trek 13). Tetapi dalam versi PH, Aynsley yang bermain bersama 'Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention' mendapat jatah 4 lagu yang dimasukan dalam album tersebut didalam disc 4 yaitu: Well, Jamrag, Scumbag dan Au yang seluruhnya juga direkam di Fillmore East,New York City bersama Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention pada tanggal 6 Juni 1971.

Track list:
1. Woman Is The Nigger Of The World
2. Sisters O Sisters
3. Attica State
4. Born In A Prison
5. New York City
6. Sunday Bloody Sunday
7. The Luck Of The Irish
8. John Sinclair
9. Angela
10. We're All Water
11. Cold Turkey
12. Don't Worry Kyoko
13. Well (Baby Please Don't Go)
14. Listen, The Snow Is Falling (Bonus track)
15. Happy Xmas (War Is Over) (Bonus track)

Trek 1-10 direkam bersama Elephant's Memory:
Line up:
John Lennon - guitars (including a resonator guitar), vocals.
Yoko Ono - drums, vocals.
Jim Keltner - drums, percussion.
Klaus Voormann - bass guitar.

Elephant's Memory:
Stan Bronstein - flute, saxophone.
Wayne 'Tex' Gabriel - guitar.
Richard Frank Jr - drums, percussion.
Adam Ippolito - keyboards, piano.
Gary Van Scyoc - bass guitar.

Trek 11-12 direkam pada pertunjukan di Lyceum Ballroom in London, England tanggal 15 Desember 1969. Kecuali untuk dirinya dan Yoko, John membuat pseudonym bagi para pemain lainnya:

Line up:
John Lennon - guitar, vocal.
Yoko Ono - bag, vocal.
Eric Clapton - 'Derek Claptoe' - guitar.
Delaney & Bonnie - 'Bilanie & Donnie' - guitar, percussion (and friends, brass, percussion)
Jim Gordon - 'Jim Bordom' - drums.
George Harrison - 'George Harrisong' - guitar.
Nicky Hopkins - 'Sticky Topkins' - electric piano (overdubbed in N.Y. as organ was lost)
Bobby Keyes - 'Robbie Knees' - sax.
Keith Moon - 'Kief Spoon' - drums.
Billy Preston - 'Billy Presstud' - organ.
Klaus Voormann - 'Raus Doorman' - bass
Alan White - 'Dallas White' - drums.

Trek 13 direkam di Fillmore East,New York City bersama Frank Zappa and The Mothers of Invention pada tanggal 6 Juni 1971.

Line up:
John Lennon - guitar, vocals.
Yoko Ono - bag, vocals.
Aynsley Dunbar - drums.
Bob Harris - keyboards, vocals.
Howard Kaylan - vocals.
Jim Pons - bass guitar, vocals.
Don Preston - Mini-Moog.
Ian Underwood - keyboard, vocals, Woodwinds.
Mark Volman - vocals.
Klaus Voormann - bass guitar, vocals.
Frank Zappa - guitar, vocals.

"Life is A Lot Like Music... It's Best When You Improvise"

No comments:

  © babequ 2005

Back to TOP